Accrington Cricket Club

Accrington 182-1 dec, Todmorden 131
30th August 1970

Accrington 1970
Accrington 1st XI 1970

Title chasing Accrington got back to winning ways with a 51 run win over Todmorden at Thorneyholme Road. Accrington openers professional Bruce Francis and Geoff Hayhurst put on 165 after Todmorden elected to field. Hayhurst hit seven boundaries in a career best 79 with Francis hitting eight fours in making an unbeaten 90, passing 1,000 runs for the season when he reached 70. Bob Ratcliffe was 8 not out when Accrington declared on 182-1 after 40 overs. Skipper Eddie Robinson took 4-47, Ian Birtwistle picked up 3-26 and Alan Worsick 2-33 to bowl Todmorden out for 131 in the 30th over. Malcolm Taylor also picked up three good catches. Opener Kevin Wilkinson (4) was first to go at 5 with wicketkeeper Garth Stansfield (8) fell to Worsick at 12. Ratcliffe removed professional Terry MacGill for 6 at 35 but Peter Brownbridge (37) and Mike Jowett (42) put on 59 for the 4th wicket. Ken Hollows fell to Birtwistle with Robinson removing Brian Whittaker (1) and Malcolm Heywood (0). Worsick returned to send back Keith Fielden (8) and it was Robinson who secured victory by removing last man David Butterworth (1) leaving Alan Fiddling unbeaten on 16. Scorecard

If you have any memories of 1970 please email Nigel Stockley