Accrington Cricket Club

Rawtenstall 142, Accrington 146-5
23rd May 1970

Accrington 1970
Accrington 1st XI 1970

Accrington stay top of the table after a 4 wicket win at Rawtenstall thanks to brilliant unbeaten 84 by Russ Cuddihy. Skipper Eddie Robinson (4-57) was soon amongst the wickets picking up Alan Holt (0) with his first ball and Brian Chapman (0) with his fifth with Geoff Heaton (1) falling in his next over to reduce the home side to 9-3. Harold Lister (32) and John Roach (12) took the score to 46 before both fell to Ian Birtwistle (3-48). Professional John Grant top scored with 54 before being run out. Robinson also dismissed Brian Manning (8), Maurice Davies was run out for 7 and Birtwistle sent back John Davies (0) before Alan Worsick clean bowled last man Rod Taylor for 5. George Croisdale was unbeaten on 22 in Rawtenstall's 142 all out. Openers Geoff Hayhurst and professional Bruce Francis put on 19 before Grant trapped his opposite number for 16 and then the Australian had Lindon Dewhurst caught behind by Manning without addition. Cuddihy and Hayhurst weathered Grant's early storm and the upped the tempo, adding 74 in quick time. Rawtenstall got back in the game when Maurice Davies sent back Hayhurst (22) and Bob Ratcliffe (0) in successive balls but Brian Rutter joined Cuddihy to add 45 before falling to Grant for 19 with 5 needed for victory. Cuddihy went on to finish the match in style hitting a straight six, his third of the innings in which he also hit eleven fours. Scorecard

If you have any memories of 1970 please email Nigel Stockley