Accrington Cricket Club

Accrington 113-9, Rawtenstall 133
8th August 1970

Accrington 1970
Accrington 1st XI 1970

League leaders Accrington hung on for a draw against championship chasing rivals Rawtenstall on the eve of Sunday's Worsley Cup Final against Burnley. Failure to beat Rawtenstall saw Accrington drop down to joint second place with Burnley with Enfield taking over at the top with seven matches to go. Skipper Eddie Robinson (3-59) and Ian Birtwistle 9-20) took 3 wickets apeice in Rawtenstall's 133 all out. Robinson sent back opener Geoff Heaton (7) at 9. The home skipper also accounted for John Roach (1) and Alan Holt (18). Bob Ratcliffe removed Norman Slater who hit a career best 37. Alan Worsick (2-25) dismissed professional John Grant (19) and John Davies (0) with Birtwistle sending back Brian Chapman (19), skipper Brian Manning (1) and Maurice Davies (0). Professional Bruce Francis claimed a rare wicket dismissing Keith Derbyshire for 21. Francis then top scored with 56 from 78 balls, including six fours and two sixes. Geoff Hayhurst (4) fell to Derbyshire at 31. Grant then got to work, taking 6-53, picking up Ratcliffe (14), Russ Cuddihy (5), Brian Rutter (16), Alan Richardson (5), Terry Neville (1) and Birtwistle (0). Francis fell to George Croisdale (2-24) who also dismissed Lindon Dewhurst (2) leaving Robinson (3 not out) and Worsick (0 not out) to bat out time and salvage a draw as Accrington closed on 113-9 in 27 overs. Scorecard

If you have any memories of 1970 please email Nigel Stockley