Accrington Cricket Club

Accrington 98-4, Ramsbottom 27
2nd May 1970

Accrington 1970
Accrington 1st XI 1970

Accrington notched a second successive 10 wicket win this time at Thorneyholme Road at the expense of Ramsbottom on another damp wicket. Alan Worsick took 5-50 and skipper Eddie Robinson 4-1 to roll the visitors over for just 27 from 17 overs. Accrington batted on after passing Ramsbottom's total without loss to finish on 98-4 from 27 overs. Worsick removed opener John Steele and professional Bapu Nadkarni both without scoring with just a single on the board. Professional Bruce Francis picked up his first Lancashire League wicket when he had Trevor Morris caught by Brian Rutter for 2 at 12. Worsick cleaned up Peter Ashworth without scoring and opener Arthur Chapman, who top scored with 15, fell to a fine catch by Geoff Hayhurst at leg slip off Robinson, both at 17. One run later John Ashworth was also cleaned up by Worsick without troubling the scorers. Robinson held a return catch off Henry Hall (0) and Geoff Bladen (0) was snapped up by Terry Neville behind the sticks as two more wickets fell at 18. Skipper Terry Stewart (8) and Maurice Haslam (1) took the score to 27 when Robinson bowled the latter and Worsick cleaned up the visiting skipper to end he Ramsbottom innings. Francis made 28 before falling to Nadkarni who also snapped up Hayhurst (5) and Russ Cuddihy (26). Haslam dismissed Rutter for 9 and Bob Ratcliffe made an unbeaten 21 when play ended. Scorecard

If you have any memories of 1970 please email Nigel Stockley