Accrington Cricket Club

Accrington 136-1, Nelson 135
16th May 1970

Accrington 1970
Accrington 1st XI 1970

Accrington notched a comprehensive 9 wicket win over defending champions Nelson at Thorneyholme Road. Alan Worsick once again got Accrington off to a good start by dismissing skipper Frank Taylor for single with just 2 runs on the board. Brian Rutter brilliantly ran out the other opener Webb for 2 at 13. Ian Birtwistle sent back John Reed for 15 and Worsick then dismissed professional Neil Hawke for 11 to have Nelson 29-4. Michael Greenwood was next to go for 11, chipping a return catch to Worsick who had beaten him all ends up with his previous two balls. Former opener Roy Pickles and young Ken Bythell then took Nelson from 47-5 to 105 with a 58 run 6th wicket stand. Skipper Eddie Robinson broke the partnership when he bowled Bythell for 24 with a faster one. Russ Cuddihy stumped Alan Roberts (10) off Robinson with Terry Neville off the field recovering after being hit on the head by a rising ball. Neville soon returned to snap up Pickles off Robinson for a fighting 42. Robinson also sent back Pat Calderbank without scoring and when Birtwistle trapped wicketkeeper Alan Haigh in front for 15, the champions were dismissed for 135. Robinson picked up 4-46, Worsick took 3-43, Birtwistle 2-30 and professional Bruce Francis conceded 16 runs off 2 overs. Openers Geoff Hayhurst and Francis put on 63 before the left handed Hayhurst was bowled by Calderbank for 23. Francis went on to hit a dozen fours in a fine unbeaten 69, adding an unbroken 73 with Cuddihy who made an unbeaten 40 to take Accrington to a third win in four games in the 18th over. Scorecard

If you have any memories of 1970 please email Nigel Stockley