Accrington Cricket Club

Church 100, Accrington 217-9
Worsley Cup 2nd Round 21st June 1970

The cup crowd
The crowd at Church

Professional Bruce Francis hit a superb 134 in his sides 117 run win at a sun drenched Church to take Accrington to the Worsley Cup semi finals. The Australian hit 17 boundaries from 160 balls in a superb innings which was Accrington's highest ever individual innings in the competition before being caught on the long on boundary by a diving Billy Wilkinson. Brian Rutter made 20 and skipper Eddie Robinson 19 but Accrington's total of 217-9 was dominated by Francis. Alan Worsick then took 6-33 and Bobby Ratcliffe 2-18 as Church were bowled out for 100. Church skipper Bob Fishwick hit 59 to save his side from total humiliation. Jack Houldsworth (4-88) had Geoff Hayhurst caught by Barry Wilson for 3 with the score on 19 to strike the first blow for the home side. Russ Cuddihy made 5 out of a 2nd wicket stand of 39 with his professional before being caught by Geoff Briggs off professional Jim Mitchell. Lindon Dewhurst (4) fell to the same combination at 71. Rutter and Francis then put on 57 for the 4th wicket before Rutter was caught by Jimmy Haworth off Houldsworth for 20. Mitchell removed Ratcliffe (1) at 132 and Alan Richardson (1) was trapped in front by Houldsworth three runs later. Robinson (19) added 63 with his professional for the 7th wicket before being superbly caught by Mitchell (4-92) running 20 yards backwards to take the catch off his own bowling. Terry Neville hit a six off Mitchell in making a late 10 as the overs ran out. A fine opening spell by Worsick and Ratcliffe reduced Church to 41-7 with Briggs also having to retire with a hand injury. Ratcliffe dismissed Haworth (9) and Barry Wilson (0) with Worsick sending back Wilkinson (12) and Mitchell (0) in successive balls and Fred Bentley (2), soon following. Ian Birtwistle chipped in with the wicket of Tommy George (0). Fishwick fought back with a fine innings of 59 which included ten fours before also falling to Worsick who also removed wicketkeeper Bill Heys (1) and last man Houldsworth (0). Scorecard

If you have any memories of 1970 please email Nigel Stockley