Accrington Cricket Club

Bacup 165, Accrington 167-9
Worsley Cup 1st Round 7th June 1970

Accrington Worsley Cup Winners 1970
Accrington Worsley Cup Winners 1970

Accrington won a thriller at Bacup by 1 wicket to scrape through to the 2nd Round of the Worsley Cup. The home side batted first and were all out for 165 after being 107-8 at one stage, with Ian Birtwistle taking 4-38. Alan Worsick dismissed opener Barry Wilson (6) and Roger Law (14) with Bob Ratcliffe (2-34) accounting for Peter Nicholson (2) and professional Tony Mann (12). Skipper Eddie Robinson had his opposite number Derek Whitworth caught behind by Terry Neville for 23 and Birtwistle sent back opener George Westwell for 36 and Kenny Lord and Geoff Simcock for 3 apiece to have the home side 107-8. Sixteen year-old Nigel Gray made 15 in a 9th wicket stand with wicketkeeper Fred Mitchell (25 not out) and last man John Beaumont joined in the fun hitting 18 before being run out off the last ball of the 36 over innings. In reply, Accrington made a good start cruising to 61-0, until Geoff Hayhurst was bowled by Beaumont for 28. Russ Cuddihy (0) soon followed as did Lindon Dewhurst (12), both men falling to the leg spin of Mann. When professional Bruce Francis (63) and Ratcliffe (0) fell to the medium pace of Westwell in successive balls, things were not looking good for the visitors. Mann (4-79) also removed Alan Richardson (2) and Robinson (7) but Brian Rutter saved the day for Accrington by scoring 34 valuable runs, until he was run out to leave Accrington 156-8. The 9th wicket fell when Birtwistle was caught by Wilson off Lord for 7 leaving Neville to make the winning hit with one over and one wicket in hand. Scorecard

If you have any memories of 1970 please email Nigel Stockley