Accrington Cricket Club

Bacup 192, Accrington 151-8
29th August 1970

Accrington 1970
Accrington 1st XI 1970

Alan Worsick took 7-50 but Accrington could only draw at Bacup after the home side made 192 all out in their innings. The loss of professional Bruce Francis for a rare duck left Accrington an uphill struggle but a career best 43 by Malcolm Taylor helped the visitors made 151-8. Worsick claimed the wickets of George Westwell (0), Barry Wilson (16) and Roger Law (3) in his opening spell, returning later to add Fred Mitchell (18), Steven Edmundson (13), Geoff Simcock (4) and Rob Buckley (0) to his impressive haul. Home professional Tony Mann hit a league best 95 with good support from skipper Derek Whitworth (21), both men falling to Alan Richardson (2-10). Tony Farrell picked up the other wicket, clean bowling Brian Earnshaw without scoring. Earnshaw (3-25) had his revenge though claiming the wickets of prolific openers Francis (0) and Geoff Hayhurst (8) along with skipper Eddie Robinson (12). Mann then got to work with the ball, dismissing Russ Cuddihy (39), Brian Rutter (13), Taylor and Terry Neville (2) in conceding 41 runs. John Beaumont accounted for Richardson (2) but Farrell (10 not out) and Ian Birtwistle (2) batted out time to earn a draw for the visitors. Scorecard

If you have any memories of 1970 please email Nigel Stockley