Accrington Cricket Club

East Lancs 107-4, Accrington 106
Worsley Cup Semi Final
Wednesday 21st June 1961


1961 Team
Accrington 1961
Lancashire League Champions
©Garth Dawson

Accrington were well beaten at Alexandra Meadows after a poor start that saw the top three back in the pavilion for 17. Wes Hall (11) and skipper Lindon Dewhurst (31) led a recovery but only an unbeaten 20 by Jim Eland at number ten took Accrington to 106. Professional Ray Strauss (4-50) and Roger Sharp (4-31) took 4 wickets apiece for the home side. Hall (2-55) made an early breakthrough, but opener Brian Ratcliffe hit an unbeaten 30 with Sharp adding 24 in an unbroken 5th wicket stand of 32 that took East Lancs to the final with a 6 wicket win. East Lancs went on to beat Todmorden in the final but Accrington had the satisfaction on winning the championship for the first time since 1916. Scorecard