Accrington Cricket Club

Accrington 82, Burnley 132-8 dec
Saturday April 15th 1961


Accrington 1961
Accrington 1961 Champions
©Garth Dawson

Accrington’s championship winning campaign got off to a bad start with a 50 run home defeat by Derek Riley’s Burnley. A half century by opener Bob Entwistle (58) helped the visitors to 132-8 declared with professional Wes Hall conceding 60 runs in picking up the wickets of the skipper Riley (6) and Derek Chadwick. Accrington used four bowlers with Jim Eland taking 2-18, Eddie Robinson 3-37 and Derek Mark 0-7.

Burnley ’s West Indian off spinning professional Lance Gibbs and Jack Schofield picked up four wickets apiece to bowl the home side out for 82. Martin Welbourne top scored with 21 but captain Lindon Dewhurst (15) and opener Derek Rushton (12) were the only other players to make double figures.